World Wide Wrestling Federation Formed

by Mark Long
Vince McMahon Sr - Toots Mondt -

Vince McMahon Sr & Toots Mondt

The World Wide Wrestling Federation is formed on April 1, 1963. Promoters Vince McMahon, Sr., Toots Mondt and Willie Gilzenberg withdraw their Northeastern promotion, Capitol Wrestling, from the National Wrestling Alliance in response to Lou Thesz gaining a victory to retain his title over Buddy Rogers in Toronto. McMahon and his partners protested that the title change occurred in a one-fall match, when title normally changed in the best out of three falls.

The WWWF named Rogers its inaugural champion after claiming he won a fictitious tournament in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil or Antonino Rocca.